Councils gain fresh look

Tari JeffersManjimup-Bridgetown Times
Residents across the Lower South West have voted in new faces for their local councils.
Camera IconResidents across the Lower South West have voted in new faces for their local councils.

Councils across the Lower South West have gone through a massive change, with six new faces being elected for 12 seats across four shires.

Manjimup Shire Council had seven people vying for four seats in the central ward and five battling for one seat in the west ward.

Susan Dawson Vidovich was a new face elected for the central ward, while Ken Lawrence was the new councillor elected for west ward.

They will join re-elected councillors Robert Taylor and Denise Jenkins in the central ward.

There was a 31 per cent voter turnout for the central ward election and a 41 per cent turnout for the west ward.

Kim Skoss was elected unopposed for the north ward seat.

Manjimup shire councillors on Thursday re-elected Paul Omodei as shire president and elected Jayde Darin as the deputy president.

Bridgetown-Greenbushes Shire Council had a massive upheaval following Saturday’s election, with a new president and deputy president being elected at a council meeting on Monday night.

Re-elected south ward councillor John Nicholas was elected as shire president and new south ward councillor Barbara Johnson was voted in as deputy president.

Other new faces to the council are Jenny Mountford and Peter Quinby in the south ward.

Tony Pratico and Joann Moore were re-elected for the two north ward vacancies.

Nannup Shire Council welcomed new councillor Cheryle Brown.

Nannup shire president Tony Dean and Vince Corlett were elected unopposed for the south ward.

Following a special council meeting on Monday, there was no change to the shire president and deputy president positions, with south ward councillor Robin Mellema retaining his deputy seat.

In Boyup Brook, Kevin Moir was re-elected for the Benjinup seat.

Shire president Graham Aird, Adrian Price and Elizabeth Rear were elected unopposed for the Scotts Brook, Boyup Brook and Dinninup wards respectively.

The Boyup Brook Shire Council will swear in Mr Moir and vote for the shire president and deputy president positions at the council’s next meeting on November 21.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails