Cricketers claim end of season awards without a formal function

SuppliedManjimup-Bridgetown Times
Northcliffe's Dan Bayman won the Warren Blackwood Cricket Association's Cricketer of the Year award.
Camera IconNorthcliffe's Dan Bayman won the Warren Blackwood Cricket Association's Cricketer of the Year award. Credit: Manjimup-Bridgetown Times

The Warren Blackwood Cricket Association has announced its end of season awards, but unfortunately could not hold an awards night due to COVID-19 gathering restrictions.

In the batting average and aggregate categories, the top batsmen of the season came from five different clubs.

Peter Bamess from Pemberton won the aggregate category with 510 runs, followed by Boyup Brook’s Tristan Mead with 489.

Daniel Ward again figured prominently with 456 and Asa Lamb from Northcliffe had a career best season, amassing 446 runs.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Hugh Mitchell rounded out the top five with 384 runs.

Bamess also won the batting average category with 72.85 runs per innings, followed by Mead at 61.12.

Cameron Harris from Manjimup was third, averaging 49.33, followed by Ward with 41.45 and Bridgetown’s Darren Tassos came in fifth with 40.28.

Northcliffe newcomer Dan Bayman took out the bowling aggregate category with 29 wickets, in front of second-placed Simon Duncan who snared 21.

Youngster Josh Tempera from Pemberton finished third with 20 wickets with Northcliffe bowlers Mason Abbott and Phil Thomas rounding out the top 5, finishing with 19 and 18 wickets respectively.

Duncan was at his miserly best, averaging only 4.86 for each of his wickets to comfortably win the bowling average category.

Bayman finished second with 10.86, Tempera third with 11.10, Abbott fourth with 13.84 and Thomas fifth with 18.72.

The Cricketer of the Year award went to Dan Bayman, capping his great debut season for Northcliffe.

Previous winners Daniel Ward and Tristan Mead finished second and third, with Hugh Mitchell and Simon Duncan from Bridgetown finishing fourth and fifth.

Under 21 Cricketer of the Year was won by Jozef Parkinson from Manjimup, who narrowly beat Pemberton’s Riley Liddelow.

Parkinson snared two wickets in his last over of the year to pip Liddelow by 13 points.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails