Four in a row for Bulldogs

SuppliedManjimup-Bridgetown Times
Bridgetown Cricket Club celebrates its fourth successive win in the Warren Blackwood Cricket Association.
Camera IconBridgetown Cricket Club celebrates its fourth successive win in the Warren Blackwood Cricket Association. Credit: Manjimup-Bridgetown Times

Bridgetown Cricket Club won its fourth successive premiership when it defeated Pemberton by four wickets in the 2019/20 Warren Blackwood Cricket Association season grand final in Bridgetown on Saturday.

Pemberton won the toss and batted first under a cloudy sky.

Veteran seamer Kimberley Gardiner (2-25) had the visitors in early trouble when he dispatched Anthony Ellis (2) and Peter Bamess (1) in quick succession to leave the score at 2-6 after eight overs.

Pemberton skipper Gary Mills played a lone hand top scoring with 49 before he was bowled by Mitchell Clothier (2-12) as the Bulldogs’ bowling attack applied consistent pressure to make scoring difficult.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


The visitors scrambled their way to 104 and were bowled out from the final ball of their 45 overs.

Simon Duncan (2-14), Darcy Walsh (1-20) and Shane Glancy (1-27) shared the other wickets.

In reply, the Bulldogs were off to a shaky start as Matt Tassos snicked Brendon Peet (1-12) through to keeper Mills and departed for a duck.

Hugh Mitchell continued his imposing form, clubbing 65 in a partnership of 90 for the second wicket with Darren Tassos (23 not out) to take the Bulldogs to within striking distance of victory.

Mitchell’s departure to Dan Moynihan (1-29) sparked a middle order collapse as Sam Tempra (4-19) ripped through Tom Sherwell (4), Clothier (0), Brayden Watkins (2) and Shane Glancy (0) to give Pemberton a sniff of an upset win.

Five wickets fell for 12 runs in half an hour of carnage before Walsh (3 not out) snicked Tempra through the slips to bring up the win for the home side. Eight Bridgetown players have now played in four premierships in a row including skipper Shane Glancy, Mitchell Clothier, Simon Duncan, Kimberley Gardiner, Darren Tassos, Matt Tassos, Tom Sherwell and Ben McAlinden.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails