Manjimup Basketball concludes season with nail-biting finals

Daniel HockingManjimup-Bridgetown Times
Giants' Keenan Wilson in hot pursuit by Hawks B's Luke Murphy
Camera IconGiants' Keenan Wilson in hot pursuit by Hawks B's Luke Murphy Credit: Daniel Hocking

The Manjimup basketball season finished with phenomenal final matches on Friday and Saturday from both the junior and senior basketball leagues.

Pink Ladies vs. Comets Red - Women’s A-Grade grand final

The Pink Ladies and the Comets Red were both hungry for the win, with a neck-and-neck battle from the beginning.

Brielle Krispyn, Alicia Gluck and Jessica Reeve all scored early for the Comets to take the lead, with Hayley Kilrain, Adele East and Jasmine Clark scoring for the Pink Ladies, thanks to their strong offence and teamwork.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


The Pink Ladies were able to get in front by half-time, leading by six points with a score of 13-7.

The second half had both teams re-organising their strategies, with Comets Reds going on an aggressive offence to try to overtake the Pink Ladies who played a more cautious game, with emphasis on defence and possession.

The Comets were able to catch up with the Pink Ladies, thanks to their strategy and the work of Alicia Gluck, Brielle Krispyn and Holly Gill scoring goals in the second quarter, bringing their score to 24.

However, the Pink Ladies were able to take possession and run with a strong lead, with goals scored by Adele East, Stella Introvine, Hayley Kilrain and Emily Millar to give them a win 30-24.

Adele East of the Pink Ladies was awarded MVP of the grand final and the winner of the three-point competition.

Saints vs Comets - Women’s A-Reserve grand final

The Saints and the Comets were both eyeing the prize when the two teams stepped on the court for the last time this season, going head-to-head for the A-reserve grand final.

The Comets started strong with scores from Margaret Ugle, Payton Della, Natalie Moore, Layla McKinty, Chloe Reeve and Kim Reeve, giving them a strong lead with 16 points and laying down the challenge for the Saints.

The Saints were able to put up a fight with goals scored by Courtney Blakers, Jodie Miller, Janett Harris and Sammy Jo Tetlow to bring their score to 11 points.

In the second half, the Saints tried to get in front, scoring an additional nine points with goals scored by Jodie Miller, Janett Harris and Lisa Smith.

However, the Comets kept their winning streak, extending their lead with 16 points scored by Payton Della, Kim Reeve, Margaret Ugle and Natalie Moore, to take the championship with a final score of 32-20.

Comets’ Payton Della was named the MVP of the match.

Wolfpack vs. Dingoes - Men’s A-Reserve grand final

The Wolfpack and Dingoes started their grand final match toe-to-toe, with great teamwork and aggressive play from both sides.

Jamie Smedhurst, John McGinty and Christian Dehaan all were able to score for the Wolfpack, giving them eight points and keeping the Dingoes on their toes.

The Dingoes, however, also were able to score and keep up with the Wolfpack, thanks to Liam Edwards, Reece Edwards and Jared Johnston, putting them in the lead with nine points by half-time.

In the second half, the Wolfpack put on a more aggressive front and were able to take the lead with John McGinty, Jamie Smedhurst, Christian Dehaan, Aaron Pedlar and Kai McGinty scoring to push the Wolfpack into a strong lead, finishing with a score of 31 by full-time.

The Dingoes were not going down without a fight and were able to add points to their score with the work of Adam Edwards, Jared Johnston, Reece Edwards and Liam Edwards.

However, the Dingoes were not able to reclaim the lead they had in the first half, allowing the Wolfpack to win the A-reserve league competition with a final score of 31-23.

Wolfpack’s John McGinty was named MVP of the match.

B-Grade grand finals and exhibition match

Hawks B and Giants went head to head, with the Giants winning the men’s B-grade grand final with a score of 36-29.

Giants’ Tyson Jacobs was named the MVP in the men’s grand final.

The Senators went against the Magpies Blues for the women’s B-grade final, with the Senators being the eventual winner with a final score of 23-18.

Senators’ Bec Peos was named the MVP and the best and fairest in the women’s grand final.

The men’s A-grade champions the Barracudas went up against Bridgetown’s Cyclones in a special exhibition match, with Barracudas toppling the Cyclones 53-38.

Barracudas’ Jakeb Burford was awarded MVP.


U12 Girls: Hawks v Saints - 14-12

U12 Boys: Comets v Saints - 54-31

U14 Girls: Senators v Hawks - 26-22

U14 Boys: Comets v Senators - 39-32

U16 Girls: Senators v Comets - 15-13

U16 Boys: Saints v Hawks - 43-40

U19 Boys - Hawks v Trotters - 38-36

Mens’ A-grade: Barracudas (Manjimup) v Cyclones (Bridgetown) - 53-38

Womens’ A-grade: Pink Ladies v Comets Red - 30-24

Mens’ A-reserve: Wolfpack v Dingoes - 31-23

Womens’ A-reserve: Comets v Saints - 32-20

Men’s B-grade: Giants v Hawks B - 36-29

Womens’ B-grade: Senators vs Magpies Blue - 23-18

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails