No limit to excitement in big night of Manjimup speedway action

Aidan SkrahaManjimup-Bridgetown Times
Collie driver Phil Lycholit won a thrilling Street Stock feature race.
Camera IconCollie driver Phil Lycholit won a thrilling Street Stock feature race. Credit: Supplied

Manjimup Speedway played host to the Limited Sprintcars and round three of the 2021-2022 Ivix Industries South West Sedan Championship on Saturday night.

Albany’s Aydan Trewern shared the front row with Kyle Sayer for the 20-lap decider for production sedans and led the early laps.

Sayer wrested back the lead as the pair began to weave their way through the lapped traffic, with Sayer being inconvenienced, handing the lead back to Trewern.

Trewern negotiated the final circulations, holding off Sayer, whose power plant showed signs of distress in the concluding stages.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


The production sedan finale went from green to chequered flag without a stoppage in what was an entertaining race as Michael Clark, Clinton Theyer and Richard Nelson rounded out the top five.

Manjimup’s David Fall looked set to claim the street stock finale on his home track before a late race caution brought him back to the chasing pack.

Ethan Genev was out on the opening lap with a flat tyre with Fall setting up a healthy advantage over the rest of the field with the race appearing to be his until the yellow lights came on for a spun back marker.

Margaret River’s Clint Hadley along with Albany’s Paul Bowman, Phil Lycholit and Peter Walker all took their best shots at finishing on the podium in a thrilling final two laps.

Lycholit inherited the lead after Fall and Hadley came together with the Hadley’s Earthworks Holden Commodore spinning on the back straight.

Lycholit was a popular winner from Walker and a luckless Fall third.

Matthew Thomson dominated the Junior Sedan finale on the night aboard his Hyundai Excel.

Michael Keen, from Bunbury, was the winner of the Limited Sprintcars leading from start to finish to take the win from Tim King and Glenn Dickinson.

Manjimup Speedway will be back in action in the new year on January 2 for the annual Street Stock Stampede.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails