What the Lower South West Football League fixture looks like for your team

Headshot of Luke McPherson
Luke McPhersonManjimup-Bridgetown Times
Bridgetown Bulldogs are the 2021 Lower South West Football League Premiers.
Camera IconBridgetown Bulldogs are the 2021 Lower South West Football League Premiers. Credit: Josh Sunderland/Manjimup-Bridgetown Times

The 2022 Lower South West Football League full fixture has been released, with a grand final rematch in round six among the highlights of the 17 rounds culminating in the grand final on September 17 in Kojonup.

Games will begin on Saturday, April 9, when Southerners host Deanmill and Tigers play Bridgetown before Boyup Brook face Imperials on Sunday.

Manjimup Tiger Shaun Aylward pivots away from Southern Matthew Fox.
Camera IconManjimup Tiger Shaun Aylward pivots away from Southern Matthew Fox. Credit: Ben Loughran/Manjimup Bridgetown Times

Round three will be highlighted by the Johnson Cup, with the Imperials keen to bounce back after a 119-point drubbing by the Manjimup Tigers in last year’s fixture.

Boyup Brook will host Bridgetown in the grand final rematch on Saturday, May 21, during the league’s Belt Up round.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


The Bulldogs led the league all of last year and beat Boyup Brook in the final match 12.10 (82) to 9.9 (63) to claim the flag.

Each team will play each other twice and two teams three times in the 17 rounds, with some teams handed a fortunate draw.

Last year’s runners-up Boyup Brook have arguably the most favourable draw, playing Imperials and Kojonup three times each despite neither team making the finals last year.

Wooden spooners Southerners and Deanmill are likely to have the next easiest run towards finals, with Kojonup and Tigers likely to have the most difficult.

The Tigers will face Deanmill and Bridgetown three times in a tough draw after both sides managed to make the finals last year.

Kojonup's Dillon Battistessa clears the ball.
Camera IconKojonup's Dillon Battistessa clears the ball. Credit: Ben Loughran/Manjimup-Bridgetown Times

Despite finishing fifth, Kojonup have been handed the toughest draw of the season, having to play both Bridgetown and Boyup Brook three times throughout the year.

Bridgetown will play Tigers three times as well as Kojonup. Imperials are set to have three matches against Southerners and Boyup Brook.

The LSWFL said the season would start on April 9, but that it would make necessary adjustments to the fixtures throughout the season if clubs were affected by COVID-19.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails